Things to do in Shropshire this Summer holiday

Summer holidays have started and so I wanted to put together a list of places to see, things to do and events across Shropshire this Summer. I plan on printing it and sticking it on the fridge so we can pick a new place every day.

All the places listed are within 1 hour of Shrewsbury.

I will be adding to the list as I discover more places and events (as I’m sure I’ve left plenty out!) but if you have any that you would like me to add then please let me know.

Enjoy!

Outdoor Walks-

Castel Dinas Bran- http://www.castlewales.com/dinas.html

Lyth Hill- http://www.shropshiresgreatoutdoors.co.uk/site/lyth-hill-countryside-site/

Rectory Wood (Church Stretton)- http://www.shropshiresgreatoutdoors.co.uk/route/discover-shropshire-family-friendly-rectory-wood-and-field/

Battlefield 1403 (Shrewsbury)- https://www.visitengland.com/experience/visit-battlefield-1403-site-battle-shrewsbury

Appley Woods (Telford)- http://www.apleywoods.co.uk/

Haughmond Hill including Zog activity trail (parking £)- https://www.forestryengland.uk/haughmond-hill

Wyre Forrest Wren Walking trail (parking £)- https://www.forestryengland.uk/wyre-forest/wren-walking-trail-wyre

Llangollen canal and the horsehoe falls- https://canalrivertrust.org.uk/enjoy-the-waterways/canal-and-river-network/llangollen-canal

Pontcysyllte aqueduct- https://www.pontcysyllte-aqueduct.co.uk/

Chirk aqueduct- https://www.shropshiretourism.co.uk/accomtracking.php?estid=1000856

Oswestry Hill Fort- http://www.shropshiresgreatoutdoors.co.uk/route/oswestry-hill-fort/

Telford Town Park (parking £)- http://www.telfordtownpark.co.uk/

Shrewsbury Quarry Park- https://originalshrewsbury.co.uk/visit/quarry-park

£ Hawkstone Park Follies- https://www.hawkstoneparkfollies.co.uk/

£ Weston Park, Shifnal - https://www.weston-park.com/

The Mere at Ellesmere- https://www.ellesmere.info/

Cae Glas Park (Oswestry)- https://www.oswestry-welshborders.org.uk/oswestry/cae-glas-park/

Seven Valley Country Park (Bridgnorth) - https://www.shropshiretourism.co.uk/heritage-and-historic-sites/severn-valley-country-park.html

Granville Country Park- https://www.shropshirewildlifetrust.org.uk/nature-reserves/granville-country-park

Nescliffe Country Park- http://www.shropshiresgreatoutdoors.co.uk/site/nesscliffe-hills-and-the-cliffe-countryside-heritage-site/

Mortimer Forest- https://www.forestryengland.uk/mortimer-forest

Clee Hills- https://www.visitshropshirehills.co.uk/shropshire-hills/the-clee-hills-and-the-corvedale/

Stiperstones National Nature Reserve -  http://www.shropshiresgreatoutdoors.co.uk/site/stiperstones-national-nature-reserve-nnr/

The Wrekin

 

Splash Parks and Paddling Pools (free)-

Shrewsbury Quarry Splash Park

Telford Splash Park

 

 

Farms, Zoos and animal parks (free and £)-

£ Park Hall Farm (Oswestry)- https://www.parkhallfarm.co.uk/

£ Home Farm, Attingham (Shrewsbury)- http://www.homefarmattingham.co.uk/

£ Hoo Farm (Telford) - https://www.hoofarm.com/

£ Exotic Zoo (Telford)- https://exoticzoo.co.uk/

£ Acton Scott, working farm - https://www.actonscott.com/

Apley Farm Shop and (£) Scotty’s Animal Park- https://apleyfarmshop.co.uk/

£ Rays Farm (Bridgnorth)- https://raysfarm.com/

£ Fordhall farm (Market Drayton)- https://www.fordhallfarm.com/

£ Gentelshaw Wildlife Centre (Eccleshall) - http://www.gentleshawwildlife.co.uk/

 

National Trust- https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/days-out/regionmidlands/national-trust-in-the-midlands

Dudmaston Hall (nr Bridgnorth)

Attingham Park (Shrewsbury)

Benthall Hall (Broseley)

Cardingmill Valley (Church Stretton)

Wenlock Edge

Berrington Hall (Leominster)

Croft Castle and Parkland (Leominster)

Letocetum Roman Baths and Museum (nr Lichfield)

Morville Hall (nr Bridgnorth)

Morville Hall (nr Bridgnorth)

Shugborough Estate (Staffordshire)

Sunnycroft (Telford)

Wightwick Manor and Gardens (Wolverhampton)

Wilderhope Manor (Much Wenlock)

 

Places to visit outdoors-

£ Wonderland (Telford)- http://wonderlandmidlands.co.uk/

Cheshire Ice Cream Farm (entrance is free but activities are £)- https://www.theicecreamfarm.co.uk/

£ Bridgnorth Railway- http://www.bridgnorthcliffrailway.co.uk/

Ironbridge- https://www.ironbridge.org.uk/

£ Blists Hill (Ironbridge) - https://www.ironbridge.org.uk/explore/blists-hill-victorian-town/

£ Battlefield Falconry Centre (Shrewsbury) - https://battlefieldfalconrycentre.co.uk/

British Ironworks Centre (Oswestry) - https://www.britishironworkcentre.co.uk/

£ Wroxeter Roman City- https://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/wroxeter-roman-city/

£ Telford Steam Railway- https://telfordsteamrailway.co.uk/

Ludlow Castle- https://www.ludlowcastle.com/

£ Woodseaves Miniature Railway- http://www.woodseavesminirail.co.uk/

£ Treasure Trials (7 in Shropshire in total)- https://www.treasuretrails.co.uk/things-to-do/shropshire/shrewsbury

Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre (entrance is free so some activities £)- https://www.shropshirehillsdiscoverycentre.co.uk/

Shropshire Wildlife Trust- https://www.shropshirewildlifetrust.org.uk/

Ludlow Market

£ Snailbeach Lead Mine - http://www.shropshiremines.org.uk/snailbeach/page/snailbeach.html

Shropshire Lavendar - https://www.shropshirelavender.co.uk/visit-us/

Shawbury Fruit Farm- https://www.facebook.com/pages/Shawbury-Fruit-Farm/1459068914331637

Stokesay Castle (Craven Arms)- https://www.shropshiretourism.co.uk/castle-and-hill-forts/stokesay-castle.html

£ Long Mountain Pony Trekking - https://www.longmountaincentre.co.uk/pony-trekking#

 

Places to visit indoors-

Apley Farm Shop and Playbarn (admission is free but activities are £)- https://apleyfarmshop.co.uk/

Percy Throwers Garden Centre (Shrewsbury)- https://www.bluediamond.gg/garden-centre/percy-throwers-garden-centre

Hollybush Garden Centre and Aquaria- https://www.hollybush-garden.com/

£ Enginuity (Ironbridge)- https://www.ironbridge.org.uk/explore/enginuity/

RAF Cosford (parking £)- https://www.rafmuseum.org.uk/cosford/

Rowleys House and Mansion (Shrewsbury)- https://historicengland.org.uk/services-skills/education/educational-images/rowleys-house-and-mansion-shrewsbury-7757

Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre (entrance is free so some activities £)- https://www.shropshirehillsdiscoverycentre.co.uk/

£ Jump in Trampoline Park, Shrewsbury- https://www.gojumpin.com/locations/trampoline-park-shrewsbury

£ Splat n Splodge Pottery painting (Shrewsbury) - https://www.splatnsplodge.co.uk/

£ AMF Bowling Shrewsbury - https://www.amf-bowling.co.uk/shrewsbury

£ Telford Ice Rink - http://www.telfordandwrekinleisure.co.uk/leisureservices/homepage/52/telford_ice_rink

£Climbing the Walls (Shrewsbury)- https://climbingthewalls.club/

 

 

                Softplay areas-

£ Jungleland Telford- http://www.junglelandtelford.com/

£ Percy Throwers Garden Centre (Shrewsbury)- https://www.bluediamond.gg/garden-centre/percy-throwers-garden-centre

£ Piggies Play Barn (Shifnal) - https://apleyfarmshop.co.uk/

£ Little Rascals (Shrewsbury)- http://www.uklittlerascals.com/

£ Fuzzy Ed’s (Shrewsbury)- https://www.fuzzyeds.co.uk/

£ Oswestry Fantastic Funhouse- http://fantasticfunhouse.co.uk/

£ Medieval Madness (Shrewsbury) - https://medievalmadness.co.uk/

£ Mad Hatters (Church Stretton) - https://www.madhatterssoftplay.co.uk/

£ Monkey Mania (Ludlow) - http://www.monkey-mania.co.uk/

£ Mickey Millers Family PlayBarn (Church Stretton)- https://mickeymillersfamilyplaybarn.wordpress.com/

Pirates and Princesses (Telford) - https://www.facebook.com/piratesandprincess/

 

Events

Hawkstone Park Follies- Troll Hunt- 21st July- 2nd Sept

Park Hall Farm Unicorn Week- 22nd-28th July.

British Ironworks Centre Unicorn Trail – 22nd July-  August

Leaf Boats and Catapults- Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre- 22nd -  26th July

Kids Outdoor Fun- Shropshire Wildlife Trust- 24th July, 21st August

Meet the Bees- Chirk Castle- 25th July

Dumbo Flicks in the Sticks- Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre- 26th July

Going on a Bear Hunt- Shropshire Hills Discover Centre- 29th July

Gansta Granny at Dudmaston Hall- 30th July

Free boat trips for children at Llanymynech Wharf Visitor Centre- 2nd August (and every other Friday in August)

Oswestry Show- Oswestry Showground- 3rd August

1960s event and Llangollen Railway – 3rd August

Shropshire Food Fair- Shropshire hills Discovery Centre- 3rd August

Bushcraft with Wood- Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre- 5th August

Teddy Bears Picnic- Cuan Wildlife Rescue – 9th August

Shrewsbury Flower Show- 9th and 10th August

Day Out with Thomas- Llangollen Railway- 9th – 11th August

Ellesmere Summer Festival – 10th and 11th August

Leaf Boats and Catapults- Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre – 12th-16th August

Dino Week at Park Hall Farm – 12th-18th August

Scarecrow Festival at Moreton Village – 17th-18th August

Full Steam Ahead and Blists Hill Victorian Town- 17th – 18th August

Ellesmere carnival- 17th August

Tusker’s Colour Run- Shropshire Hills Discovery Centre- 17th August

RAF Cosford Museum- Vintage and Handmade Festival- 17th-18th August

Going on a Bear Hunt- Shropshire Hills Discover Centre – 19th-23rd August

Coalbrookdale & Ironbridge Community Centre - The Gruffalo Family Walk- 21st August

Shrewsbury Folk Festival – 23rd – 27th August

Balloon Festival at Cae Glas Park- 24th-25th August

Starflower at Attingham Park- 30th August

Alice in Wonderland at Dudmaston Hall- 1st Sept

To download my free printable checklist click here